Compliance with the National and Ohio State Beef Checkoff Programs 

By law, all producers selling cattle or calves, for any reason and regardless of age or sex, must pay $1-per-head to support beef/veal promotion, research and information through the Beef Promotion and Research Act created by the 1985 Farm Bill. As of March 2014, in the state of Ohio all producers selling cattle or calves must pay an additional $1-per-head through the Ohio Beef Marketing Program Referendum.

MONTHLY REMITTANCE FORM

Download and print this form to remit checkoff dollars for auction market sales, order buyers and feedlots. 

download or learn how to complete the form here >

PRIVATE TREATY FORM

Download and print this form to remit checkoff dollars for private treaty sales.

download here >

frequently asked questions

where do I mail my remittance and/or private treaty forms?

Ohio Beef Council
10600 U.S. Highway 42

Marysville, OH 43040

Who pays the checkoff?

By law, all producers selling cattle or calves, for any reason and regardless of age or sex, must pay the checkoff to support beef/veal promotion, research and information through the Beef Promotion and Research Act. The buyer is generally responsible for collecting $2 per head from the seller, but both are responsible for seeing that the checkoff is collected and paid. In addition, the checkoff also is collected at the same rate on every live beef animal imported and at the equivalent rate of $1-per-head on all beef products that are imported.

What do checkoff dollars do?

The beef checkoff doesn't own cattle, packing plants or retail outlets. It can't control prices or singlehandedly turn around a bad market. The Beef Checkoff Program was designed to stimulate consumers to buy more beef. This is accomplished through a combination of initiatives including consumer advertising, research, public relations, education and new product development. The state beef checkoff enables the Ohio Beef Council to extend beef’s presence in Ohio’s schools, conduct more public relations outreach and farm tours for Ohio’s food professionals, directly connect with consumers through spokesperson training programs, provide nutrition seminars for health professionals and develop a greater statewide media presence through radio, print, and social media all which help to reach Ohio’s 11.5 million consumers with a beef message.

What can’t checkoff dollars do?

The law does not allow checkoff funds to be used for lobbying activities to influence public policy or government affairs.

When is the checkoff due to the Ohio Beef Council?

The checkoff is due by the 15th of the month following the transaction. (Example: You sell cattle on June 6, the checkoff must be postmarked by July 15th.) Under the Act and the Order, OBC is legally responsible for collecting monthly assessments as well as a two percent late charge on checkoff remittances if not postmarked by the 15th of the month following the transaction.

Is anyone exempt from paying the checkoff?

No producer is exempt from the checkoff, according to the Act. Buyers who resell cattle no more than 10 days from the date of purchase may file a non-producer status form and avoid paying an additional dollar. They are, however, responsible for remitting collected funds and reporting any transaction to the qualified state beef council. More recently, producers of 100 percent USDA certified organic products were exempted from most commodity checkoffs in separate legislation.

Do dairy farmers pay the checkoff too?

Yes, dairy farmers also pay the checkoff. Roughly 20 percent of the beef produced in the United States comes from dairy animals. 

When did Ohio farmers approve the state checkoff?

On March 31, 2014, the Ohio Department of Agriculture certified the results of the Ohio Beef Marketing Program Referendum. A total of 2,118 votes were certified: 1,527 votes, or 72 percent of the total, were cast in favor of the referendum and 591 votes were opposed to the increase.

Is the state beef checkoff refundable?

Per the Ohio Revised Code, refunds of the $1 state checkoff are available by written request using an approved Ohio Beef Council refund form. These forms can be requested by contacting the Ohio Beef Council at 614-873-6736 or by emailing beef@ohiobeef.org. No refund is available on the first dollar since it is governed by the federal beef checkoff.

I need to pay the federal and state checkoff. What forms do I complete?

Federal and state checkoff can be remitted using one check and one new state/federal remittance form, providing it is completed according to its instructions to clearly show the amount of federal checkoff and state checkoff.

My farm is in Ohio, but I feed my cattle in a different state…

If cattle are located in one state for 30 days prior to their sale, the checkoff dollars stay in that state. If it is less than 30 days, then the dollars go back to the state of origin.

I raise cattle in Ohio, but market them in a different state. What state do I pay the checkoff too?

Ohio producers who haul cattle to a market located outside of Ohio are responsible for paying the second $1 for the Ohio state checkoff directly to the Ohio Beef Council. (The existing federal dollar will be deducted at the point of sale and returned to its state of origin.)

I live outside of Ohio, but market cattle in Ohio. What state do I pay the checkoff to?

Producers who live outside of Ohio and bring cattle into Ohio to market will be assessed the $2 checkoff. The first federal dollar will be sent back to their state by the beef council to be split 50-50 between the state of origin and the Beef Board. The second Ohio $1 will stay in Ohio.

Are cattle sold on the internet subject to the checkoff?

Ohio cattle sold in internet sales are also subject to the $2.00 assessment. Marketers located outside of Ohio who operate internet sales where Ohio cattle are marketed will also need assess and remit the $2.00 checkoff.

Shared Ownership

When ownership of cattle is shared, each owner must pay his pro rata share of the checkoff when shared cattle are sold. The important issue is not the mechanics of the transaction, but that the entire checkoff is collected.

A dollar or a document?

All selling and purchasing transactions must be reported to OBC. In each instance, the checkoff must be paid or a Non-Producer Status exemption form must be collected by the buyer from the seller. If you opt to claim an exemption, you swear that: 

  1. Your share in the proceeds is only a sales commission or service fee OR you acquired ownership of the cattle to facilitate the transfer of ownership to a third party AND
  2. You owned the cattle less than 10 days AND upon your purchase the checkoff was collected or you received a Certification of Non-Producer Status from the seller OR you purchased the cattle in a transaction where you were not responsible for collection of the checkoff (ex: Auction Market).

Transfer of Ownership as a gift or Cattle as Payment of Services

An assessment is due on each transfer of ownership of cattle, even if no money has changed hands between parties. For example, when cattle are used as payment for services rendered or when cattle are given as a gift or donation the producer shall remit the checkoff. The transaction will be treated as a private treaty sale. If cattle are purchased and transferred as a gift within 10 days, then the rules governing Non-Producer Status apply.

Determination of Transfer of Ownership

The major criteria for determining when assets (cattle, beef, or beef products) are transferred from one legal entity to another, is the transfer of risk of loss between the parties. The point at which risk of loss passes from one legal entity to another signifies that ownership has transferred for determining whether or not the checkoff is due.

Where can I get more information about the beef checkoff?

For more information about the Beef Checkoff, please call 614-873-6736 or email OBC